Lando Norris Secures Maiden F1 Victory at Miami Grand Prix

Lando Norris Secures Maiden F1 Victory at Miami Grand Prix

In a thrilling turn of events, McLaren’s Lando Norris clinched his first Formula 1 race win at the 2024 Miami Grand Prix. Taking advantage of a mid-race Safety Car period, Norris surged ahead of Red Bull’s Max Verstappen and maintained a convincing lead, finishing seven seconds clear of the championship leader. Charles Leclerc of Ferrari secured third place, with his teammate Carlos Sainz closely following in fourth, and Sergio Pérez in the second Red Bull rounding out the top five.

Reflecting on his long-awaited triumph, Norris expressed his elation, stating, “What a race. It’s been a long time coming, but finally I’ve managed to do it, so I’m so happy for my whole team.” Norris credited his team’s efforts and his own perseverance throughout the challenging race.

Verstappen initially took the lead at the start, while Norris battled his way through the field. However, a series of incidents reshuffled the order, with Norris eventually capitalizing on the opportunity to secure the lead during the Safety Car period. Despite Verstappen’s attempts to regain the lead, Norris held firm, steadily increasing his advantage to clinch the victory.

Behind the leading pack, intense battles ensued throughout the race, with Sainz making a notable move to overtake Pérez and secure fourth place. The Miami Grand Prix showcased not only Norris’s exceptional performance but also the fierce competition among the top drivers in the championship.

With this victory, Norris joins the ranks of Formula 1 race winners, marking a significant milestone in his career and further solidifying McLaren’s resurgence as a competitive force in the sport.

Final Results:

  1. Lando Norris (McLaren/Mercedes) – 57 laps – 1:30’49.876
  2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull/Honda RBPT) – 57 laps – 1:30’57.488 (Gap: 7.612 seconds)
  3. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) – 57 laps – 1:30’59.796 (Gap: 9.920 seconds)
  4. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) – 57 laps – 1:31’01.283 (Gap: 11.407 seconds)
  5. Sergio Pérez (Red Bull/Honda RBPT) – 57 laps – 1:31’04.526 (Gap: 14.650 seconds)
  6. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – 57 laps – 1:31’06.461 (Gap: 16.585 seconds)
  7. Yuki Tsunoda (Red Bull/Honda RBPT) – 57 laps – 1:31’16.061 (Gap: 26.185 seconds)
  8. George Russell (Mercedes) – 57 laps – 1:31’24.665 (Gap: 34.789 seconds)
  9. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin/Mercedes) – 57 laps – 1:31’26.983 (Gap: 37.107 seconds)
  10. Esteban Ocon (Alpine/Renault) – 57 laps – 1:31’29.622 (Gap: 39.746 seconds)
  11. Nico Hülkenberg (Haas/Ferrari) – 57 laps – 1:31’30.665 (Gap: 40.789 seconds)
  12. Pierre Gasly (Alpine/Renault) – 57 laps – 1:31’34.834 (Gap: 44.958 seconds)
  13. Oscar Piastri (McLaren/Mercedes) – 57 laps – 1:31’39.632 (Gap: 49.756 seconds)
  14. Zhou Guanyu (Sauber/Ferrari) – 57 laps – 1:31’39.855 (Gap: 49.979 seconds)
  15. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull/Honda RBPT) – 57 laps – 1:31’40.832 (Gap: 50.956 seconds)
  16. Valtteri Bottas (Sauber/Ferrari) – 57 laps – 1:31’42.232 (Gap: 52.356 seconds)
  17. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin/Mercedes) – 57 laps – 1:31’45.049 (Gap: 55.173 seconds)
  18. Kevin Magnussen (Haas/Ferrari) – 57 laps – 1:31’54.559 (Gap: 1’04.683)
  19. Alexander Albon (Williams/Mercedes) – 57 laps – 1:32’05.967 (Gap: 1’16.091)
  20. Logan Sargeant (Williams/Mercedes) – 27 laps – 43’03.540 (Accident)

The 2024 Miami Grand Prix delivered a spectacle of racing action and unforgettable moments, showcasing the relentless pursuit of excellence in Formula 1.

Update: Carlos Sainz received a five-second time penalty and one penalty point on his license for a collision with Oscar Piastri during the Miami Grand Prix. Sainz lost control of his Ferrari while attempting to overtake Piastri, resulting in damage to Piastri’s car. Despite stewards acknowledging Piastri’s room for Sainz, they determined Sainz was at fault for missing the apex. The penalty was reduced due to Sainz’s loss of control being a contributing factor. As a result, Sainz dropped from fourth to fifth place, with Sergio Perez moving up to fourth.

This Article use tools from Chatgpt

Bookmark the permalink.